Tick. Tock. Tyranny.

“There’s a time for us,

Some day a time for us,

Time together with time to spare,

Time to learn, time to care,

Some day!”

Confession. I’ve never seen West Side Story, but when I hear the song Somewhere my heart swells to bursting just the same. Particularly it is the second verse, the one that I have quoted above that gets me, right in the soul, every time.

I am a slave bound to the clock. Each morning, my alarm persecutes me with its shrill, persistent voice at 5:45am. Then again at 6:30am to remind me to administer phenobarbital and Keppra to my epileptic cat MaryGold. Then again at 7:00am to insist that I get out the door and on my way to work at the local high school. Once I get to school, every 50-minute class is signaled by yet another bell, counting off even more seconds that slip through my grasp like sand culled from a fragrant beach. In the evening, I arrive home just in time for still another alarm, this one set for 6:30pm to remind me that it is time once again to administer MaryGold’s medicine. After 6:30pm I have 3 hours and 30 minutes before my 10pm alarm dictates that it is time to administer MaryGold’s Zoni, again for her epilepsy. From here I have a two-hour window before MaryGold’s final medicine administration at midnight. As you can see, my time is largely bracketed by work on the one hand and caring for MaryGold on the other.

“There’s a time for us…”

That beautiful melodic line plays in my head at times like a longingly haunting refrain. How I wish there was more time. With my schedule the way that it is, I really only have the window between 6:30pm and 10pm to practice my burgeoning computer programming skills. This time tyranny is made worse by the fact that each day that passes brings me closer to the first day of web development boot camp and I am not making swift progress through the PreWork assignments.

“Someday a time for us…”

Internally I am panicked. Fervently, recklessly I attempt to steal seconds from here and there hoping it will add up to enough time to finish up all the tasks that need to be completed. I have to grade papers, I have to call parents, I have to run the National Honor Society, I have to do lesson planning, I have to I have I have to….. the list never ends. On and on and on… leaving me to wonder, “When am I supposed to program? I don’t have time to wait for someday.

Time together with time to spare,

Time to learn, time to care,

That bit about having “time to spare” fills me with such indescribable longing. Sincerely I yearn for time to spare. But it is the next line that inspires me. It is “time to learn, time to care.”

My PreWork assignments are not going to do themselves. No amount of wishing is going to magically produce more time. The tick tock of the clock is linear and it never circles back. Instead of longing for time that I do not have, I need to make the most out of the 3 hour window that I do have.

To do this I counted the number of days that I have left between now and March 23rd when class begins. Then I looked at the list of topics that I am supposed to familiarize myself with between now and then. Some quick division helped me see that I can get everything covered if I spend 9 days on each topic. So welcome to my new study schedule:

Feb 3rd – Feb 11th: Git and GitHub

Feb 12th – Feb 20th: HTML/CSS

Feb 21- March 1st: Java Script

March 2 –March 10th: PHP

Mar. 11th – March 19th : MySQL

This is ambitious, no doubt about it, but I think I can make sound progress as long as I stick to this schedule. As you can see, I am in the Git and GitHub section right now. I am relying heavily on codeschool to help me understand the nuances of Git. So far it has been an uphill battle, but it is a war that I think I can win.

“Some day!”

That word is so pregnant with possibility, with potential. Someday (March 19th to be exact) I will finish my PreWork. Someday (March 23rd to be exacter) I will actually start bootcamp. Someday I will go from a novice level of tech understanding to intermediate. Someday, I will even have advanced computer skills.

For now, I must accept the totalitarian dictatorship of the clock. But if I put the time in now, who knows where it could take me… Someday.

5 thoughts on “Tick. Tock. Tyranny.

  1. I love your writing style and perspective and I’m glad that you have time to blog! You’re so refreshing and you’re just going to have to be a computer programmer AND a writer.

    Like

  2. Great writing… 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow, I loved this. I adore that song from West Side Story, and I love how you’ve brought pieces of the lyrics together into your writing and life, with all those alarms. Amazing. Keep writing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

