A Life Without Challenge…

smallmer1The new year dawned with chill wind and grey drizzle.  I watched the sun creep up with my epileptic cat MaryGold who often wakes between 4 and 5 am for some as yet unknown reason.  I often keep a close eye on MaryGold even though her seizures are controlled, so when she stirred on the morning of January 1st 2015, I woke up.

The first thing I thought about was the camp.  Fear and excitement churned in my stomach as I once again wondered out loud, “Did I make the right decision?”  MaryGold did not answer, though her eyes always seem to suggest some deep wisdom.

My decision to sign up for a web development boot camp will strike anyone who knows me as odd.  Quite odd.  I am NOT tech savvy.  I barely know the difference between a router and a modem.  If my computer does not work, I sacrifice a chicken to the computer gods and hope the animal’s blood will be suffice.  Just kidding about the chicken, but you get the idea.  Computers are a complete enigma to me.  They might as well be powered by some kind of dark magic.

This. Is. A. Problem.  I use a computer everyday.  I am using a computer right now to type out this very sentence.  I feel that it is somehow wrong to be completely ignorant about something that has revolutionized the world and is so vital to my everyday existence.  For me, computers represent a challenge.  The gauntlet has been thrown.  I wish to understand how to program computers and how the internet works.  In short, I want to become a web developer– from scratch. (Perhaps less that scratch.  If there is something that comes before scratch, I am actually starting from there.)

The camp that I signed up for starts in March.  The purpose of this blog will be to chronicle this (mis)adventure.  It promises to be…(painful, embarrassing, frustrating, potentially deadly) interesting to say the least.

4 thoughts on “A Life Without Challenge…

  1. Welcome to the world tech. You will be successful. Take one day at a time

    Like

  2. Meag-gan Walters

    Well ol girl, This looks like the begining of a beautiful blog!

    Like

  3. I just recently watched the movie imitation game (actually I was sitting two seats to your right). I was struck by the power differentials- the military authority, the money, the academics, societal norms, and the power of a great mind whose contribution was sadly misunderstood. Thanks for your insightful comments! : )

    Like

  4. i like the new look

    Like

Leave a Reply

